Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Best tanking pet - Turtle?

+5
Kurasu
silvart
Nordh
armchairhunter
jfragment
9 posters

:: Forums :: The Pets

Go down

Best tanking pet - Turtle? Empty Best tanking pet - Turtle?

Post  jfragment Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:04 pm

Hi guys,

I'm new to Big Red Rhino and I'm loving it. Very nice work sir Smile

I've been tanking with my pets since Stockades and LOVE it. The hardest thing about tanking is usually convincing the group it's possible. I've been playing WoW for about 3 years now. I have played in top raiding guilds (<Ret> #44 US #98 World) back in BC but sold the account, got a new job, and have a baby on the way Smile Well, in not so short, I play casually now and have a 70 hunter I'm leveling atm.

On to my question:
Is there an agreed upon best instance tanking pet?
Before thunderclap was talented it was the Gorilla for AoE and Turtle for MT. Now that TC is talented I've been using a turtle. With all the duration shortening talents my turtle takes 50% less damage for 12 seconds every 42 seconds. With that ability, along with thunderclap, he seems like the best possible tanking choice. Are there any other top pets or theories that disprove the turtle-god-tank theory?

Again, awesome site!
jfragment
jfragment

Back to top Go down

Best tanking pet - Turtle? Empty Re: Best tanking pet - Turtle?

Post  armchairhunter Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:30 pm

Howdy.

While I do agree that the turtle is the top tank pet in terms of mitigation (shield wall on a 42 sec CD woot!), I also think that
bears and crocolisks are interesting choices in terms of TPS.

for fights where turtle level mitigation is not needed I think either of the others would provide for smoother sailing, as dps would not need to hold back as much.

These are all pure speculation on my part (as I havent played at all during WOTLK), but would merit some testing.

cheers
- ACH